Get to Know Us Better!

Now that the blog has been up and running for over a month (GASP), I decided that it would be worthwhile to get to know the people behind the blogging and recipes. So this week Skyler and I got to write about some pretty cool people – each other! Below you will find some fun facts and quirks about the people who are bringing you The Balanced Ballerina. Enjoy!! -Ashley
Ashley’s Bio

By Skyler Levine

aforche_holidaydinner
Photo by Benjamin Hale

Though I have only known Ashley Forche for approximately six months, I cannot tell you how impressed I am by her every single day. She is the most dedicated, passionate, and hard working girl you will ever meet. Not only is she involved in the rigorous daily schedule of a Nashville Ballet Trainee, but she is also a high school Senior taking classes online through Northwestern University. A few of them would include Neuroscience and Business Entrepreneurship, which helped inspire her to create the idea for The Balanced Ballerina. The Balanced Ballerina is her brain child, and is far more than just a blog. With her brilliance behind it, it will soon develop into the encompassing business for which she has planned, and far exceed her expectations. Ashley is an entrepreneur through and through. Every day, she strives for excellence in her chosen career, Ballet, while simultaneously living out her goal to help others gain self-assurance and perform at their peak. Her resoluteness to achieve these aspirations makes this beautiful girl’s future brighter than you or I could possibly imagine. As our posts continue, I have a feeling you will become just as intrigued by her as I first was when I met her, and realize that her name is one to remember. I for one, feel beyond lucky to have met her and be able to say, “I knew her when…”

Skyler’s Bio

By Ashley Forché

unnamed (1)
Photo by Nashville Ballet

I remember the first day I met Skyler. In actuality, I saw her dance before I met her. A trainee at Nashville Ballet, I watched as Skyler floated through every combination, the epitome of strength and grace. Little did I know that this dancing talent would turn out to be one of the kindest and most genuine people I have ever met. At such a young age, Skyler has found that health is her path to happiness. Her knowledge about fueling people properly and self-care never fails to astound me. Skyler is even furthering her wisdom by studying the healing power of herbs and high quality foods through The Science and Art of Herbs by Rosemary Gladstar. This home study course will allow her to become a family level herbalist. Additionally, Skyler is also participating in a Kinesiology course, which is helping her to understand/analyze movement and therefore further feed the body through physical understanding and injury prevention. Skyler’s goals to help educate others on healthy body image, eating habits, mindset, and total body cherishment while simultaneously pursuing a career in dance are nothing short of inspiring. She is such an invaluable resource to The Balanced Ballerina and words cannot describe how happy I am to have her as a part of the blog. I am constantly impressed by Skyler’s level head and intense work ethic. I am so excited to watch her amazing dance career develop alongside her passion to help others in this field. However, above all, I am so lucky to have Skyler as a friend.

14 Questions for Ashley and Skyler

Bold-Ashley Italicized-Skyler

  1. Which superpower would you have?

To read minds.

To be able to fly.

  1. Where would you go in a time machine?

The sixties, revolution and the beginning of crunchy granola.

The twenties, I am in love with flapper dresses and my favorite book is The Great Gatsby.

  1. What is your favorite quote?

“To want something you’ve never had, you have to do something you’ve never done.”

And, “With freedom, books, flowers, and the moon, who could not be happy?” – Oscar Wilde

“Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.” – Robert F. Kennedy

And, “The very substance of the ambitious is merely the shadow of a dream.” -William Shakespeare

  1. Pepsi or Coke?

Neither! A green juice sounds great though 🙂

Neither! A chai tea is definitely a staple.

  1. Favorite food or dish?

Roasted brussle sprouts! I could also eat almond butter for all three meals, can’t decide between the two.

I love a good veggie burger and anything with avocado. I also am in a committed relationship with Crazy Richard’s crunchy peanut butter.

  1. Describe yourself in three words

Ambitious, inquisitive, compassionate

Determined, a dreamer, and caring

  1. What is your philosophy towards your work?

The world reflects back at you what you show it. What you put into it is what you get out of it through love, passion, and hard work.

I think hard work is essential for success. I also believe in helping as many people as I can each and every day. I want to leave the world a better place than it was when I came into it.

  1. What is your favorite way to relax?

With a knitting project, my dogs, and my family.

A hot yoga class, with a journal, and with my friends and family.

  1. Biggest inspiration?

Anyone that can question common principles, care for other creatures above themselves, and turn their lives into something extraordinary.

My mother, never have I met someone with such an extraordinary heart and drive. I also am inspired by the underdogs and people that believe in the power and beauty of their dreams.

  1. Last book you read?

Brain Maker, by David Perlmutter

Tutu Thin, by Dawn Smith-Theodore

  1. Favorite leotard style?

Halters, or anything with a low back.

I love the Sofiane style yumiko or anything with sleeves. I also love all leotards with mesh 🙂

12. What inspired you to adopt a healthy lifestyle?

I was raised in a household that focused on fresh organic foods. I became especially interested in it my myself when I began my struggle with body image.

I think being healthy is essential to success in any given lifestyle. I believe that when we treat our bodies right we can perform at our peak and be the best people we can be!

  1. Carnivore or Herbivore?

Vegetarian all the way!

Both – I love my meats and I love my plants!!

  1. Fun fact:

I am newly learning how to play the piano.

I am obsessed with my planner and all things planning-related.

Leave a comment